Thoughts on ‘Stranded’ and Writing

This past week end I wrote a flash called ‘Stranded’.  For those of you who haven’t read it, the profanity is pretty outrageous, even for me.  I don’t feel like I need to justify it; as a serious writer and artist, I’m not into justifying anything I create.  But I feel like I should explain this one a little, and record my thoughts about it.

I love it.  It’s a writer-ly triumph for me.

One of the members of the writer’s group where I flash said she was uncomfortable with the misogyny expressed in it and wouldn’t choose to read it on her own.  I’m with her 100%.  As I wrote it, I was uncomfortable with the misogyny expressed in it.

That’s where the triumph comes in.

This is the most success I’ve had in writing from the point-of-view of a character that is nothing like me.  It’s what has been holding me back from creating a good villain.

These are characters from my WIP (work in progress) of many years.  Aubren , aka Brock, is my arch-villain.  K, aka Kier, is redeemed later on, but at this time, he’s a bad guy, too.  These are bad guys.  You’re supposed to dislike, even hate, them.  Now, I know you can’t tell that from a little snippet like this, but I know it, and it makes me happy that they come across as complete assholes.  In fact, they are in the mess they’re in because they’re complete assholes, confident in their assholery.

A friend of mine was talking about embracing the darkness inside you in order to grow, and I feel like I did just that and reached  out of my comfort zone as a writer.  That’s exciting.

Aubren and K have been exiled by Aubren’s wife because they tried to kill her, yet they’re calling her all these awful names, and it seems to me that that is exactly how abusers and other angry, violent people think.  Nothing is ever their fault.  So I was able to capture that to some extent.

Maybe readers will be able to take those negatives better within their context.  I hope so.  Maybe my next flash should be about my hero, a scarred and damaged, but completely badassed, female knight who’s going to kick Aubren’s ass all over the place.

Wish me luck.

P.S.  From a psychological standpoint, I must really be exploring the sacred and the profane.  On Friday, I wrote the profane flash.  Today, I blog about my relationship with God and religion.  I’m all over the place, connecting with Heaven and Earth.  🙂

2 comments on “Thoughts on ‘Stranded’ and Writing

  1. shawna says:

    did you have them kick dogs? you should totally have them kick a dog to show how evil they are

Leave a Reply

