Yankee Doodle Sweetheart

Image

Harper-Doodle Dandy would have been three today.  I still miss her and think about her all the time, probably more than is healthy, but I know that her memory will eventually leave my mind and settle in my heart.  She brought Bob and I a lot of joy– in my mom’s words, “It was like your hearts just opened up.”

Image

“When you are joyous, look deep into your heart and you shall find it is only that which has given you sorrow that is giving you joy. When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.”  Khalil Gibran

Image

She came to do a job, and she did it so well that she didn’t even have to stay very long.  I know she is thundering through some woods in the sky, flushing cloud-deer.

ImageHarper was a happy dog and she made us happy.

4 comments on “Yankee Doodle Sweetheart

  1. Donna says:

    When I hear the name Harpo, my mind goes. To so many go places. Besides the oblivious (great and wonderful) Harpo Marx I drift to phoebe Snow and “Harpo’s Blues”. Then there is the love of my live, Paul Simon whose son’s name is Harpo. When Paul wrote The Fifty Ninth Street Bridge Songayjnn

    • indiwind3 says:

      Thanks for reading, Donna. Yes, she was named for Harpo Marx and Harper Lee, my daughter’s fave author. I didn’t know Paul Simon’s son was named Harpo, that is awesome! “Harpo’s Blues” I don’t know either, will check it out.

  2. posey says:

    Fare thee well, my bright star.

  3. till we meet again, my Sweetheart, Nana will love you always.

Leave a Reply

