Let Me Tell You What I Believe

Image

Far Eastern and Indian philosophy really appeals to me.  It makes so much sense to me in it’s premise of life and the cosmos being circular or spiral, instead of a straight line with good on one side of it and bad on the other.  When I started reading Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras,  I was surprised at how logical and straight- forward it was, nothing really esoteric about it. It just makes a lot of sense. (Note: I am by no means an expert on any of this; I haven’t even made it all the way through the Sutras or the Tao te Ching, even though I love them.)

I like that, particularly in Chinese philosophies, the are no true polarities.  You can believe one thing to be true, and also believe its opposite.  One day, I posted for my Facebook status:  Look before you leap.  He who hesitates is lost.  That’s kind of a dumb example, but that’s what comes to my mind.

Somehow, tied to this in my brain is the Queen of Hearts saying she likes to believe six impossible things before breakfast.  Or was that Alice who said that?

Anyway, there’s school of thought that says if you believe in a system, you have to believe in it wholeheartedly ad sticks to its rules absolutely.  This seems to be especially true with a religion but also applies to bodies of philosophy such as Buddhism and Taoism (and probably secular humanism as well).

Now that I think on it, though, I see people attach that belief to a lot of things, like political issues, which, I’m sorry to say, don’t interest me in the least.

I don’t belong to that school of thought.   My mind is way too fluid, and I think I mentioned before that if you tell me how I must do something, I’ll smile and turn around and do it however I want.

I make it a priority to be tuned-in:  to my body, mind and spirit, to my environment and to other beings around me.  Not saying saying I always am, just that I try to be.  And so I think I’m aware if something– thought patterns, emotions, attitudes and ways of approach– is working for me or not, or at least collecting data to make that decision.  And just because something works for me, doesn’t mean it will work for you, and vice-versa.

So many people want to dictate to everyone else the absolute right way to do something, and I believe that thinking you know what is right for everyone is a dangerous illusion.

I believe that you can study anything you want and take away what works for you.  This appears wishy-washy to some people.  Some call it “New Age” in a tone of contempt.  Believe me, this really, really offends some people.  You probably know that already.

This is not even what I meant to write this morning, but I felt I needed to write a bit about where I’m coming from before delving into some of the things that I’m turning over in my mind, and that may or may not be work for me (time will tell).

So I think I’ll save the topic of Feng Shui, the trigram K’an, and Life’s Purpose for tomorrow. Thanks for reading.

2 comments on “Let Me Tell You What I Believe

Leave a Reply

